A Share and a Scape: Garlic Sausage Burgers

This weekend at the Piazza Farmers Market, I picked up the first round of produce in my summer CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) with Landisdale Farm.  As I mentioned before, not only did I change up the source of my farm-fresh goods, but I recruited my brother’s family to participate in a whole new way to shop locally and healthfully.  Here’s what came in the full share this week:

  • 2 heads lettuce
  • 2 packages arugula
  • 2 bunches Swiss chard
  • 5 zucchini
  • 5 bulbs garlic
  • 2 pints strawberries
  • About 3 cups sugar snap peas

While at the Piazza Farmers Market, I picked up some apples and cherries (first of the season!) from Three Springs Fruit Farm, garlic scapes (they’re the new rhubarb), spring onions from Lancaster Farm Fresh Co-op, and a pork roast from M&B Farview Farms.  Not only was I planning to experiment with a few warm weather specialties I had been reading about, but I was looking forward to some slow-cooked pulled pork sandwiches waiting for us after work as J and I continue to prepare for our move.

We did accomplish a fair amount packing this weekend, with a heavy (and reluctant) focus on the kitchen.  Both my mom and J have given me the “it’s gotta get done sometime” speech; so, in an effort to avoid the “you still haven’t packed that?!” speech, I conceded.  Save for a slow-cooker, a stove-top grill pan, a casserole dish and a baking sheet, the kitchen’s been stripped down.  So while the garlic scape pesto is no longer an option, some grilled spring onions or zucchini oven chips should help beat meal monotony spurred by lack of accessible tools… we certainly have plenty of food.

The garlic scape intrigued me since first reading about them last week.  Garlic scapes are the shoots that garlic bulbs send up as they’re growing.  Farmers harvest these shoots so that the plant uses its energy to make a bigger bulb instead of making a bigger plant.  The result is a spicy, firm, whip-like vegetable that can be sautéed or steamed, and used to add a bold flavor to soups, stir fries and salads… and now, burgers.

Tonight, I whipped up some fast sausage burgers (antibiotic and nitrate free) and gave them a kick with some finely chopped garlic scapes and garlic bulb.  The recipe requires little prep time other then some knife skills and a non-aversion to raw meat (or, cooked meat for that matter).  I  topped each burger with some fresh lettuce from the CSA, and a slice of Monterey Jack cheese from Hails Dairy.  Juicy, sweet with a mild spice thanks to my new friend, the garlic scape.

Garlic Sausage Burgers

Makes 6 burgers.

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Prepare vegetables as above.  Pre-heat grill pan and brush with olive oil.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together (with hands) the sausage, garlic, salt and pepper until well combined.
  3. Combine into patties and on medium heat, cook burgers for about 5 minutes on each side. Internal temperature should be 16o degrees.
  4. Place on a toasted, whole wheat bun and top with lettuce and cheese, if desired.  Enjoy!

Note: I would imagine you can make these on an outdoor grill, as well, but I can’t tell you for sure until we move in to our new place… stay tuned for an updated post!

2 responses to “A Share and a Scape: Garlic Sausage Burgers

  1. I’m learning about so many new options … garlic scapes ….sound great! I can’t wait till you move …. I’m sure with a new grill as your cooking instrument … they’ll be many new sumptuous and appetizing recipes to tantilize one’s palate : – )

  2. Pingback: Easy Green: White Bean and Radish Salad « Cold Cereal & Toast

Leave a Reply

