Kitchen Bliss: Winter Harvest Loaf

People always ask, “Was it love at first sight?”  While I always sort of teetered with this notion and firmly believed that love is not instantaneous but more of a progression… Until, that is, I saw this recipe for Winter Harvest Bundt Cake from Straight From the Farm blog. Love. At. First. Sight.

I know you’re thinking, really, in love with a cake made with vegetables?  As a dietitian with a sweet tooth, this is as close to love as I’m going to get (outside of my husband and family, of course).  I’m always looking for recipes that indulge both my sweet and healthy inclinations.  This past weekend, I decided to give the recipe a try using the vegetables from my recent CSA share and Farmers Market visit.  The original recipe calls for pumpkin, parsnips and carrots; I substituted rutabaga, kohlrabi and apple from my Sprinter Slaw recipe?   Brilliant or absurd?

Brilliant.  A trifecta of perfection – moist, nutritious, and sweet.  The cinnamon really stands out as the spice.  Without a bundt cake mold, I used a loaf pan (see more recipe notes below) – it’s wholesome enough to eat a slice for breakfast.  With a glass of milk.

Once again proof that creativity is bliss in the kitchen.

 

Winter Harvest Loaf
Adapted from Straight from the Farm’s Winter Harvest Bundt Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup honey
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • ¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 sweet potato, cooked and mashed
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup unbleached flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk (2%) + ¼ tsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup peeled and grated kohlrabi, rutabaga, apple (I used jonagold)
  • 1/2 cup carob chips

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.  Prepare a loaf pan with cooking spray, and dust with flour.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the eggs and set aside.  In another bowl, whisk together the sugar, honey, vanilla, oil and sweet potato until well combined.  Fold into the egg mixture.
  3. In another medium bowl, mix the flours, baking soda, salt, and spices.  Alternately mix the flour mixture and the buttermilk into the egg mixture until smooth.
  4. Fold in the vegetables and carob chips. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.  Bake 45-60 minutes or until a tester inserted in the cake comes out clean.  Let cool before serving.  Dust with confectioners sugar if desired.

Recipe Notes:

  • Sweet potato for pumpkin as a moistening agent.
  • Original recipe calls for 6 egg whites.  I didn’t want to waste the yolks so I used 2 whole eggs to decrease the amount of eggs used (2 egg whites = 1 whole egg).
  • Didn’t have buttermilk so I added ¼ tsp lemon juice in 1 cup milk to add the acidity.
  • The flours in the original recipe are all-purpose and buckwheat.  I would think you can experiment with what you have on hand.
  • Decreased the amount of honey originally called for because I didn’t have enough.  I found this loaf sweet enough!
  • The original recipe calls for chocolate chips which I did not have so I substituted carob chips.  For information on carob substitution, check out this post.
4 responses to “Kitchen Bliss: Winter Harvest Loaf

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Bliss: Winter Harvest Loaf « Cold Cereal & Toast « Healing Kitchens

  2. Fascinating! I’m always intimidated by recipes with mutliple ingredients, though.

    I look forward to more healthy recipes for people with a sweet tooth!

  3. Had me going there at first! Thought we were going to find out some juicy personal stuff…. You are certainly becoming the Queen of Substitution! It definitely does look absolutely scrumtious, delectable & delicious…. and… it’s healthy to boot…..what more can someone ask for…. only thing left is love at first site : – )

  4. Pingback: Market Gleanings: Pickled Kohlrabi « Cold Cereal & Toast

Leave a Reply

