My, What Big Apples You Have! CSA Pick-up and Farmer’s Market

Dinner was handed to me on a silver (or green?) platter at Greensgrow this weekend.  My CSA share contained all the fixings for an Italian dinner – fresh fettucine, basil, homemade pasta sauce and Romano cheese.  I had made fresh pasta in cooking class and it was so light and delicate, making quite a case for saving pasta splurges for when only fresh pasta is on the menu.   Outside of the meal-in-a-share and suspiciously large apples from Highland Orchards, here are the other items I will be working on over the next week:

There were only 5 brave vendors who endured another snowy, wintery day in the region to make it to the Piazza in my neighborhood. I picked up a few items before heading back to my well-heated condo:

I can say without hesitation that outside of the obvious pasta post, look for a review dedicated to kohlrabi this week.  It will be my first time working with this turnip-cabbage conglomerate; I had actually never heard of it until I pledged to eat more locally and seasonally.   Winter is turning out to be so much more than giant apples…

One response to “My, What Big Apples You Have! CSA Pick-up and Farmer’s Market

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Bliss: Winter Harvest Loaf « Cold Cereal & Toast

Leave a Reply

