Channeling Summer: Peach Muffins

Canned Peaches from Three Springs Fruit Farm

Peach cobbler, peach pie, peaches and cream… the tastes of summer.  While summer may feel like light years away in the current depths of winter, it remains on the edge of  my thoughts as I shake the snow from my boots and rub my chilled hands together to keep the blood flowing to the fingers.

I don’t often cook or bake with peaches.  I may buy them fresh in the summer months to eat whole, but I often select nectarines instead.  Must be the fuzz.  Fresh peaches provide a substantial amount of vitamins A and C, along with potassium and fiber.   Canned peaches are equally as nutritious as fresh peaches and help channel the flavor of summer year-round.  Tonight, I brought summer to my kitchen, thanks to the canned peaches from a previous CSA share.

I used a basic low-fat muffin mix that I had clipped from a Runner’s World magazine in the height of my running career.  The magazine provided great inspiration; I had finished my first – and last – half-marathon.  It is one of those recipe gems that allows you to be creative based on your tastes and cupboard availability.  For instance, I had some almond flour on hand from the holidays when I made almond cookies so I rotated 1 cup into the 2 cups of whole-grain flour the recipe called for.  Without applesauce on hand, I made my own concoction using butter and some Greensgrow Jam – both CSA items to incorporate as many local ingredients as possible.

Peach Muffins

* CSA Share

Ingredients:

Jam Butter as a substitute for applesauce

  • 1 cup whole-grain flour
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs*
  • 3/4 cup 2% milk* + 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup jam butter* – equal parts favorite flavor jam and very soft butter
  • 1 cup diced canned peaches*

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425° F.
  2. Fill a muffin tin with 12 paper muffin cups.
  3. Mix the first five dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  4. Slightly beat the eggs.  Mix in the milk and applesauce.
  5. Add wet ingredients to the dry mix. Stir until just combined, add the diced peaches.
  6. Spoon into muffin cups.
  7. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes or until muffin tops are golden brown.

Recipe Notes:

  • The recipe yielded 16 muffins total.  So you may want to be prepared with a second muffin pan.
  • The recipe calls for skim milk; since I only had 2% on hand, I just diluted with water as above.
  • I baked the muffins for 15 minutes and they came out perfect – very moist and tender.  Additionally, the peach flavor was very mild.  Might even benefit from another 1/2 cup!

Since this recipe was born out of my desire to use canned peaches, the process of canning deserves some attention.  Canning is a great way to preserve fresh, abundant, seasonal foods to help eat local all year long.  The National Center for Home Foods Preservation has a ton of resources, not only on canning your own foods, but freezing, drying, curing, smoking – any food preservation method is comprehensively explained for at-home replication.  Food in Jars is a beautiful account of one woman’s passion for canning and will certainly benefit those looking for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

