In from the Cold: CSA Pick-up and Farmer’s Market

It is cold out there!  The temperature in Philly today comes in at 15 degrees below the average this time of year.  However, it seems everyone in the U.S. is getting snow except for us, so I will count my blessings.  Yet food grows year-round, despite the cold, on farms in the tri-state area.  Here’s some other ‘blessings’ I counted today thanks to some hard-working local farmers…

CSA Pick-up 1.30.10

My third CSA pick-up at Greensgrow Farms:

After packing my bag heavy with local goodness (although I really don’t know the first thing about cooking with beets), I made a stop at the Piazza on my way home.  This morning, I read about 20 more pages of “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” and I felt compelled to buy some free-range, grass-fed meet.  (Pages 66-82 are seriously some of the most convincing words I’ve ever read about cow feedlots; a powerful argument that will surely change the way you look at beef… but I digress and will save that diatribe for another post.)

At the Piazza, my purchases included:

Rainbow chard, spinach, multicolored carrots from Highland Orchard Farms

  • Pink Lady Apples, Asian Pears, bag of spinach, a bunch of rainbow chard, and the cutest bunch of multicolored carrots from Highland Orchard Farms in Wilmington, Delaware. 
  • Half a loaf of Cinnamon Walnut Raisin Bread from Big Sky Bread in Wilmington, Delaware.  No preservatives – the only ingredients are whole wheat flour, water, raisins, honey, yeast, salt and cinnamon. Can’t beat the simplicity.
  • 1 lb chicken wings (Superbowl!) and 1 lb bone-in chicken breast from Natural Meadows Farm, in Mt. Pleasant Mills, Pennsylvania. The farm does not use pesticides, herbicides, industrial fertilizers, growth hormones or antibiotics.  Animals are grass-fed and roam on the pastures.  This makes an animal happy, and keeps us carnivores healthy.
  • 1 Duck breast from Griggstown Quail Farm in Princeton, New Jersey. Free of growth hormones and antibiotics, free-range.

    Cinnamon Walnut Raisin Bread from Big Sky

First order of business when I got home: Boil the 4 eggs left over from my last CSA pick-up to use in my salads this week; clean and wash all items; and find out what the heck to do with all these beets…

One response to “In from the Cold: CSA Pick-up and Farmer’s Market

  1. Nice job including links to the producers of your market haul. It really helps the farmers that are hip to the net.

Leave a Reply

