A Mash for Mom: Banana-Squash Oat Muffins with Carob Chips

Banana-Squash Oat Muffins with Carob Chips

On the phone with my mom this week, she mentioned what a fan of butternut squash she was.  She recently bought a container with pre-cubed chunks that she enjoyed for lunch during the work week.   We got off the phone and made plans for dinner Saturday night (tonight) and it dawned on me how I would use the butternut squash I purchased from last week’s farmer’s market visit. 

Pureed or mashed fruits and vegetables make excellent substitutes for oil and fat in baked goods.  With a lonely, ripening banana at my disposal as well, I put this theory to the test using Modern Beet’s Oatmeal Summer Squash Muffins as the base for my experiment.

I prepared the squash ahead of time as an after-work therapy session.  I halved the butternut squash and spread a light amount of the organic butter from my CSA share on the flesh of each and

Eggs from Westfield Egg Farm in New Holland, PA

 sprinkled with cinnamon.  I cooked the butternut squash flesh-side down on a baking sheet for about 35-40 minutes at 400 degrees F.   Once cooled, I mashed and placed in a Tupperware container and refrigerated for later use.

I adapted Modern Beet’s recipe a bit.  I liked the fact that honey was the sole sweetener and that the squash was already built into the recipe.  I substituted the banana for the ¼ cup oil suggested.  I also substituted cooked steel-cut oats for the rolled outs in the recipe (click here for how to cook steel-cut oats); since the oats were already moist, I cut back the amount I used in trying to balance the final texture and taste.

Dry and wet ingredients

As I portioned the batter into the muffin pan (brand new, thanks to a gift off the wedding registry), I decided to add some carob chips mid-way through.  Chocoholism runs in the family, dominant on the maternal side.  Considering I’d already featured my mom in this post, I added 1/4 cup organic carob chips because I know that would just make her happy.  (Please see the end of the post for a brief nutrient profile and a word on substitution.)

These came out moist and light, definitely soft on sweetness so they are perfect to play with — add fruit to the batter, spread a bit of jam or serve with yogurt once you have the final product.  Enjoy!

Banana-Squash Oat Muffins with Carob Chips
Adapted from Modern Beet recipe

* CSA Share       ** Farmer’s Market

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unbleached wheat flour 
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup steel-cut oats, cooked
  • 1 egg*
  • 1 cup milk* (I used 1%)
  • 1 small ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup mashed butternut squash** 
  • 1/4 c carob chips, if desired

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Combine flours, baking powder, salt, cinnamon in a medium-large bowl.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine egg, milk, banana, honey and oats.  Mix well.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until just moistened.  Gently fold in squash.
  4. Fill lined or well-greased muffin tins 2/3 full.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Right from the oven

A note on carob chips: 

I discovered carob chips thanks to the wonderful bulk aisle at Whole Foods.  Carob chips are derived from carob pods and contain sucrose.  This legume is a great source of vitamins A and B as well as many minerals such as calcium, iron and manganese.  It is also high in a fiber called pectin.  Carob has only one-third the calories of chocolate and is almost fat-free.  While maybe not the best substitute for chocolate chips in terms of flavor, a combination of the two in a recipe may make you feel less guilty about having a heavy-hand with chocolate :-).

3 responses to “A Mash for Mom: Banana-Squash Oat Muffins with Carob Chips

  1. Yum! These look great! I’m wondering about carob chips and what they taste like. I imagine I wouldn’t be able to get them at a typical grocery store.

  2. Speaking for Mom’s everywhere…..it’s so nice for a daughter to feature “A Mash for Mom” …. hopefully she’ll get to sample one of those delicious sounding muffins!

  3. Pingback: Kitchen Bliss: Winter Harvest Loaf « Cold Cereal & Toast

Leave a Reply

