CSA Jackpot

Heading out in the much more mild weather this morning, Greensgrow Farms welcomed me with some of my favorite edible stables – apples, Muenster cheese and sweet potatoes.  I filled up my reusable Whole Foods bag with all the goodies you see to the right: 

CSA Pick-up 1.16.10

  • 1/2 gallon of milk
  • butter
  • Muenster cheese
  • 28 oz canned peaches (the alternate to this was sauerkraut, I’m a fruit fan any time of the year)
  • 1 bunch tatsoi
  • 3 red onions
  • 4 apples
  • 2 lbs sweet potatoes
  • 2 rosemary bread rounds
  • 12 oz Italian chicken sausage

Tatsoi?  I’m embarrassed to admit I had never heard of the green until today.  I even had to type it into my Blackberry Note Pad to make sure I’d remember the name and correct spelling.  Yet this is just another reminder of why I’m participating in a CSA – learn about foods, how they are grown and how to cook them properly.

After returning from a morning of running errands, I am famished when I return.  Still mesmerized by tatsoi, I did a quick google search on how to prepare the vegetable.  I found a few helpful links that encouraged me to eat this veggie raw (check out Frugal Cuisine recipe and this link to learn a bit about the nutrition of tatsoi and other greens).   I decided on a quick roll-up, using my hands to separate a stem of tatsoi leaf on to a whole wheat tortilla, which had some shredded chicken, a few halved grape tomatoes, and some Allegheny Chevre cheese spread from my first CSA pick-up.  

My favorite health fact about tatsoi (and there are many of them!) is that it is a good source of calcium, making it a wise choice for lactose intolerant folks.  It has a mild taste, so I can see throwing it into my salads that I typically bring for lunch at work as well as other dish with greens.  I’m looking forward to incorporating this vegetable into my diet – the trick is getting it into J’s!

One response to “CSA Jackpot

  1. Yummmm, muenster. When can I come over for dinner? Maybe Jake would actually eat if he had you cooking for him!

Leave a Reply

