Squashing the Butternut with Beans (my recipe for a Butternut Squash Soup with Black Beans and Kale)

I threw a few bay leaves on top like a true food champ!

The butternut squash I picked up at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday sat patiently on my counter until Sunday afternoon, when I successfully mutilated it by cooking it in a 350 degree oven, flesh side down for 45 minutes.  I scored the flesh once the vegetable cooled, and then mashed it up with a bit of ginger,cinnamon and kosher salt.   I enjoyed a few spoonfuls but then decided to reserve it for meals later in the week.   Turned out to be the star of my meal Monday night!

Tonight is my second cooking class at the Walnut Hill Restaurant School.  Last night, I wanted to make sure my knife skills were as sharp as they could be (pun intended) and worked on some garlic and onions to recreate this Black Bean Chili with Butternut Squash and Swiss Chard recipe from Epicurious (one of my favorite recipe sites), with a few revisions, of course, based on what was in the kitchen.  Here is the hearty, comforting, tasty soup recipe I ended up with; it will certainly make the squash last throughout the week! 

* Farmers Market Purchase            ** CSA share

Butternut Squash Soup with Black Beans and Kale

I also adapted this recipe by using a hand blender to make the soup ‘creamy’ without any cream!

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped **
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled, cooked and mashed (as above) * 
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder (I’m a wimp when it comes to spice) 
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed, drained
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup beef broth (you can use chicken or vegetable – I have future plans to recreate a french onion soup, so I had beef broth available)
  • 1 14 1/2-ounce can diced tomatoes in juice
  • 3 cups (packed) coarsely chopped kale (from 1 small bunch) **

Directions

  1. Heat oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat.
  2. Add onions and garlic; sauté until tender and golden, about 9 minutes. Add squash and stir for a minute.  
  3. Stir in chili powder and turmeric. Stir in beans, broth, water and tomatoes with juices; bring to boil.
  4. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, about 15 minutes.
  5. Use a hand blender to combine all ingredients and thicken the soup.
  6. Stir in kale and simmer until kale is tender, about 4 minutes longer.
  7. Season to taste with salt and pepper, if necessary.  Ladle into bowls, serve and enjoy!

Thickening the soup with the hand blender

And I’m off to class 🙂

4 responses to “Squashing the Butternut with Beans (my recipe for a Butternut Squash Soup with Black Beans and Kale)

  1. I’m trying this for dinner tonight with some butternut squash that my husbands uncle brought over from his garden last year. I can’t wait to eat this!

  2. Pingback: Winter Wonderland: Spiced Whole Wheat Couscous with Kale | Cold Cereal & Toast

  3. Pingback: Winter Wonderland: Spiced Whole Wheat Couscous with Kale | Farm to Table

Leave a Reply

