Pork Wontons and a Back-up Plan

I’m definitely my own worst critic.  As many of us are.  When it comes to cooking, this is no exception.  When I try out a new recipe for J and myself, I tend to make sure there is something on-hand in case the food is a disaster (luckily I always have whole wheat bread and some type of cheese on hand).  Tonight, I tried to make wontons using wonton wrappers, since I made a pork roast last week with a good amount of leftovers.

Sadly, I did not use any of my farmers market purchases for this meal.  However, I did use my food processor for the first time since my Pumpkin Pie experiment. I cubed the leftover pork and threw it in the processor and in less than 1 minute, ground pork!  I actually did this yesterday, and then picked up some red cabbage, green onions, and wonton wrappers at the market today to complete the recipe.   It is a bit time-consuming to make the wontons, but it was a lazy Sunday so I was glad to do something constructive.  I found that you really have to be careful to seal the wonton to make sure ingredients don’t come loose!

My back up plan was good ol’  Whole Foods brand white cheddar Macaroni and Cheese.  Guess you can just never go wrong with a starch and a dairy (especially with my husband!).

The recipe itself was completely eyeballed, so unfortunately I don’t have exact amounts to post, but here are approximates if you would like to replicate (sans mac and cheese):

Pork Wontons

Makes about 18 wontons

  • 2 cups ground pork loin
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red cabbage
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped green onions
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp teriyaki sauce

Directions

  1. Mix ingredients together. 
  2. Lay each wonton on a flat surface (I used a baking sheet lined with wax paper).  
  3. Portion about 1 tsp of mixture onto each wonton (I used a melon baller to help with this).  
  4. Fold the wonton wrapper over to form triangles.  Dab your finger in water and press the edges firmly all the way around to seal.  If edges don’t seal shut, add more water.  Set filled wontons aside (don’t let them touch or they’ll stick together).  Repeat with remaining wontons until all are made.

Once you have your wontons made, you can steam, stir fry or boil in water/stock to cook.  Last time I tried to make wontons stir-fried in a pan, half of it, contents and all, congealed to the pan.  Clean-up was a pain.  I find that dropping the wontons for about 3 minutes or so in boiling water with a cup of chicken stock is the easiest way to cook these suckers, and the chicken stock adds another level of flavor.

We ate about 45 minutes ago and so far, and the mac & cheese remains untouched 🙂  Now I will indulge my ever-nagging sweet tooth with some hot chocolate with marshmallows…

Leave a Reply

