Black Friday Veg Out

Getting ready to place into tupperware to take to work for lunch!

As a fervent anti-store shopper (I love Amazon.com), Black Friday provides the perfect excuse to veg out on the couch for a few hours to indulge in some personal time doing two things I love most – reading magazines and watching The Food Network.  This Black Friday, I alternated between articles  my favorite magazine, Women’s Health and a random smattering of Food Network shows.  The article that struck me in Women’s Health inspired me to try parsnips; and I kept hearing the word “leek” come out of the mouths of the talented Food Network chefs when explaining their delicious-looking dishes.  They must be on to something, I thought!

As both parsnips and leeks are both seasonal, I resolved to create a dish of roasted vegetables and picked up parsnips and leeks at my next grocery store visit.   I did a bit of research on preparation methods via the Internet and it really couldn’t be simpler to prepare – I  just cleaned and diced the vegetables (I chose parsnips, sweet potatoes, carrots, red potatoes, leeks and red onion), tossed in extra virgin olive oil, added salt, pepper and a bit of garlic powder.  I roasted at 425 degrees for about 25 mins and then enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

