A Tourist in my Own State: City Girl to Farm

Rather than writing about our weekend in Berks County, Pennsylvania, a mere hour and a half from Philadelphia, I thought I would rely on a pictorial to tell the story.  I experimented a ton with my new camera and realized I have A LOT to learn about photography.  You will notice that I haven’t yet developed the photographer’s gregarious personality – straying far from subjects and opting for the outdoor landscape instead.    I assume that quality will come with time.  Enjoy!

I used the EatWellGuide and Buy Fresh Buy Local web site to plan our traipse.  We ventured to two Farmer’s Markets – Fairgrounds in Reading and Renningers in Kutztown – to pick up the bulk of our provisions for our weekend meals.  The purveyors included:

  • J&T Seafood – crab cakes, lobster bisque
  • Reading Spice Company – Jim Beam hot sauce
  • Paul L Keagy & Son – apples, onions, asparagus, red potatoes
  • Jim Neidermeyer – chicken wings
  • Dietrichs – sirloin steak (for J)
  • Way-Har Farms – ice cream!

Sustainable Table’s “Questions to Ask When Shopping” is an excellent resources for consumers looking to be a bit more thoughtful in their food purchases.  It helped us ask the right questions to ensure we understood where our food came from and how it was produced.

Leave a Reply

