Bitter-Sweet Affair: Turnips with Caramelized Red Onions

Turnips with Caramelized Red Onions

I knew the turnips were all me.  The bitter bite from the Poturnips left J completely unappreciative of this root vegetable.   While I definitely prefer other tubers over this one, I wanted to try another preparation method to give it a fair shot, find a niche in my diet for the turnip, rich in vitamin C, fiber, folate and phytochemicals.  When I came across this recipe from BBC GoodFood to add warm honey and butter, I started salivating immediately.

After initial preparation, however, I was less than impressed.  Still bitter, and it was missing… something.  I remembered that earlier in the day (while procrastinating at work – shhh) I saw a feature on The Kitchn on how to caramelize onions.  It must have been fate because this combination turned out to be D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S.  Caramelizing onions is quickly becoming one of my favorite ways to prepare this always-in-season vegetable.  (I also enjoy this tutorial from AllRecipes.)

Turnips with Caramelized Red Onions

* CSA Share

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium turnips *
  • 1 small red onion *
  • 2 tbsp butter, divided *
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp honey

Directions:

  1. Peel  4 medium turnips.
  2. Cut into large cubes or chunks.
  3. Cook for 4-5 mins in boiling water, then drain.
  4. While turnips are cooking, work on caramelized onions:
    1. Slice red onions and place a large skillet or saucepan on the stove
    2. Add 1 tbsp of butter and olive oil at a medium-high temperature.  Butter burns quickly so make sure the pan doesn’t get too hot.  When fat ripples, add onions and stir to coat.
    3. Stir and watch the onions get darker.   If you feel that the onions are sticking to the bottom of the pan too much, add a very small amount of water, broth, or wine to the pan and stir quickly.  Caramelization takes about 10-12 minutes but judge based on your color, flavor, and texture preference.
  5. Just before serving, heat 1 tbsp butter and 1 tsp honey until sizzling. (I microwaved for 25 seconds)
  6. Toss through the turnips and top with caramelized onions.

Serves 4 as a side dish… or 1 person for two nights :-).

3 responses to “Bitter-Sweet Affair: Turnips with Caramelized Red Onions

  1. Yum! This sounds delicious. Butter and onion is a great combination and can definitely make a lot of things (even turnips) taste better!!! I am really enjoying your recipes and your blog. :)

  2. Pingback: Friendly Intervention: Caramelized Onion, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Tart « Cold Cereal & Toast

  3. Pingback: Settling In: Sliced Zucchini with Sweet Onions « Cold Cereal & Toast

Leave a Reply

