Super Bowl Sunday Replay: Baked Chicken Wings with Soy Marinade

Super Bowl Sunday was anticlimactic this year.  Not that I wasn’t excited for the Saints (I appreciate all underdogs – after all, I live in Philadelphia) or neglected the high-profile commercials.  But, J and I were in less than a party mode after we respectfully made our way through a couple bottles of wine Saturday night at KooZeeDoo, a new BYOB specializing in Portuguese cuisine.   (On a CC&T-worthy note, they use grass-fed, free-range meat, a nice complement to the healthy dose of resveratrol in my Pinot noir.)  Leaving the six pack of craft beers from the Foodery untouched, some spirit was necessary.  Hence, chicken wings.

Natural Meadows Farm brochure

I defrosted the chicken wings I purchased from Natural Meadows Farm at the Farmer’s Market.  I bet those guys enjoyed the Super Bowl – they cleverly advertised the wings on sale at $2.75/lb two weeks prior to the main event, completely provoking my purchase (I’m a sucker for sales, thanks Mom).   With the deep fryer in the hands of a neighbor with a bit more outdoor space (those things can really smoke and smell), I gladly searched recipes for an for oven- baked alternative.  I found this recipe from Kitchen Snippets and was drawn to the soy sauce and paprika in the marinade.  I typically just throw some garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper on chicken and call it a day; but it was the Super Bowl.  I had to make them special.

Baked Chicken Wings with Soy Marinade

* CSA Share         ** Farmer’s Market

Ingredients:

  • 6 chicken wings, whole **
  • 3 tbsp of soy sauce
  • ½ tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 tsp of paprika
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cooking spray or olive oil

Directions:

  1. Wash and clean the chicken wings.
  2. Combine all the rest of the ingredients in a bowl.  Add wings and coat in mixture.  Cover and refrigerate for 1-2 hours or overnight, stirring occasionally.
  3. Preheat oven to 425 degree F.  Cover a baking dish with aluminum foil.  Drizzle it with some olive oil or use cooking spray to prevent sticking.
  4. Spread wings in the dish, pour or brush liberally with marinade.  Roast for 40-45 minutes or until golden brown. Turn the wings half way through baking.  Serve warm.

 

Chicken Wings with Soy Marinade

A few recipe notes:

The original recipe includes cayenne pepper which I omitted since it wasn’t in the cupboard.  I’m not a fan of spicy foods and I knew J would just douse them with hot sauce anyway so I was not concerned.  In terms of salt and pepper, I just added a sprinkling of pepper since the soy sauce added enough saltiness.   I marinated the wings for about two hours and cooked for 45 minutes total (turning after 20 minutes) and they came out very flavorful and moist.  The soy and sugar combination adds a bit of a sweetness resembling a teriyaki sauce.  They tasted good re-heated the next night, too!  Congrats to New Orleans…

One response to “Super Bowl Sunday Replay: Baked Chicken Wings with Soy Marinade

  1. Hi. Just found this recipe on a random search – needed to use up “6 chicken wings”. This was pretty tasty – I just ate the whole batch (less bones and gristle). I made it exactly as written. It looked pretty done at 40 minutes, so I stopped there, but 5 minutes more wouldn’t have hurt, I don’t think. Thanks for a great recipe!

Leave a Reply

