To Egg or Not to Egg: Rainbow Chard and Leek Sauté

Egg-Topped Rainbow Chard and Leek Saute

Are things really better topped with an egg?  Burgers, rice, toast, asparagus, chopped salads – all things I’ve had an egg on top.  Now I add chard and leeks to the list.

Today, I had the pleasure of working from home to accommodate a few appointments.  Not only was I very productive – managed teleconference meetings, stayed on top of emails, returned voicemail, and took calls from colleagues on my cell phone — I was definitely more relaxed throughout the day.  Perhaps it was the sweatpants I donned, or the ability to head to the kitchen to prepare lunch and get creative with food?   Taking a lunch break is too often lacking when I’m at the office… not to mention a dress code that precludes fleece pants.

With a stove at my disposal, I strayed a bit from my cold, romaine salads and tried a new dish using my Saturday rations.  Since I do like to get my greens in mid-day, I decided to make a warm salad by sauteing the rainbow chard from Highland Orchard Farms.

Fruit Stripe gum - a childhood favorite

Rainbow chard gets it’s name thanks to the mix of bright stem colors — I’m instantly transported back to my childhood and my small obsession with Fruit Stripe gum (ring a bell?).  Chard belongs to the same family as beets and spinach but it’s buttery texture makes it feel a bit indulgent.  But don’t feel guilty about indulging in this green.  Regular inclusion in your diet is probably one of the smartest nutritional moves you can make.  Chard’s nutritional profile helps to prevent osteoporosis (with Vitamins K, D and calcium),  iron deficiency anemia (with iron and vitamin C), and cardiovascular disease and certain cancers (vitamins A, C and fiber). 

Not only are the benefits plentiful, but there are many ways to cook it as well.  I built on a recipe for “Warm Greens Saute” from Women’s Health Magazine — literature that makes the gym more bearable (thirty minutes on the elliptical fly by with the latest edition on the consul).  I scaled down the balsamic vinegar because I find it a bit over-powering at times; added leeks because I love ‘em; and chopped up a hardboiled egg to top the salad with some high-quality protein.   The combination was delicious and satisfying, the egg added more flavor and texture.  Yes, this dish was better with an egg (but feel free to omit per your taste). 

Raw chard and leeks - ready for the saute!

Egg-Topped Rainbow Chard and Leek Saute

* CSA share     ** Farmer’s Market

Ingredients

  •  1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 bunch (approximately 4 cups raw) Rainbow Chard **  thick stems discarded, inner ribs removed and cut into 2-inch lengths, leaves cut into 2-inch ribbons
  • 1/2 leek, sliced *
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • Pinch of salt, to taste
  • 1 hardboiled egg, chopped *

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a 10″ no-stick skillet over medium-high heat.
  2. When the oil is hot, add the greens and leeks. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes, or until the greens wilt.
  3. Remove the skillet from the heat; stir in the honey, vinegar and salt. Toss well.
  4.  Top with the chopped hardboiled egg and enjoy!

Rainbow Chard

Wondering what to do with the colorful chard stems like I am?   In the meantime, all other crazy egg ideas are welcomed here.

2 responses to “To Egg or Not to Egg: Rainbow Chard and Leek Sauté

  1. Learning a lot about foods I’ve never even tried, I wonder why more restaurants don’t serve more than the normal every day menus?

    And, why offices don’t allow sweats…. : – )

  2. I would not have thought to top with an egg but I love many traditional Mexican dishes that have an egg on top – several flavors of enchiladas! I’d saute the chard and leeks and roll them in a corn tortilla with jack cheese. Then top with sauce and a fried egg. Yum.

    I’ll try yours too.

Leave a Reply

